Seeking Science Fiction 

#AskMastodon What are some good SF works on parasitism and sex/reproduction? I’m looking for something in the vein of Bloodchild or The Left Hand of Darkness. Not so much “All You Zombies—“ because that was about an individual, rather than a world.

#scifi #SF #sciencefiction

Follow

Seeking Science Fiction 

@setsuna First thought is Octavia Butler's Xenogenesis trilogy, but since you mention Bloodchild you've probably already got that one.

@setsuna Oh, glad it was a help! Dawn, Adulthood Rites, aImago.

Seeking Science Fiction 

@naga @setsuna Since parasitism was mentioned there is "Patternist Series" (see: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patterni). Also Butler published a lot of short-stories, and about a half of them had either of the requested themes ;)

Seeking Science Fiction 

@jacek @setsuna I hadn't thought about that aspect of the Patternist books, but you're absolutely right.

Also, to be more explicit on Xenogensis, it moves into symbiosis territory for reproduction. (As I recall, it's been a long time since I've read the latter two)

Seeking Science Fiction 

@naga @setsuna Actually I was very keen to know what will people from SF book club say when they read whole Xenogenesis (I got trilogy as a single tome so I read it in a weekend). And yes --- definitely there is more symbiosis than parasitism.

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Octodon

The social network of the future: No ads, no corporate surveillance, ethical design, and decentralization! Own your data with Mastodon!