This might well be the creepiest page ever: All the purchases a user has ever done. If the user receives a confirmation email for a purchase they made, the user is not notified that Google collected and displays this piece of information in this page. There is no explanation why they are collecting all the purchases in one page, and apparently there is no way to opt out of this or even delete the purchases from the list.

myaccount.google.com/purchases

@miramarco Surely this is a clear violation of the GDPR, considering that this has not been clearly disclosed to users and cannot be erased (presumably without deleting your entire account)?

@dickmandrake I'm no GDPR espert, but I'm inclined to agree with you. I think I will read the whole regulation from the start to end sooner or later, to see how much it has been misinterpreted.

@miramarco I suspect that deleting the confirmation email might(?) remove the item from the list, but the fact that Google is deliberately skimming everyone's emails and consolidating this specific information for unknown purposes is creepy in itself.

Follow

@dickmandrake That's also what I think, but it's our right to keep the confirmation email and at the same time have the purchase info deleted on the other side.

The very fact that there is information that leaves the mailbox and goes to another part of Google is a violation of our trust and security – it doesn't matter that it's still Google, as they claim.

Sign in to participate in the conversation
Octodon

Octodon is a nice general purpose instance. more